Sonya's blog- What to do now with my spare time?

clock Released On 14 November 2021

Sonya's blog- What to do now with my spare time?

My son started school in September 2020, and I have continued to work part time.  I had considered using my new ‘spare time’ when he was at school to either do a course in gardening or creative writing.  However, my plans were put on hold partly due to the pandemic, but also due to the fact that I felt a bit lost without my son on my days off, and actually unsure how to use my time just for me. 

I initially used the time to sort out the house – to declutter – during lockdown, but then it became the time I could get a head start on the household chores rather than doing it over the weekend. Somehow it then became a norm that I would do the cleaning on my days off.  

Once the restrictions lifted, I did make time to meet up with friends and family again for a coffee and chat and I have tried to reintroduce regular facials and massages, and yet I would feel guilty for using this time for just for me.  My husband is really supportive and reminds me that I shouldn’t feel guilty, but enjoy this time.  But this is easier said than done - “life and family things” do tend to get in the way, and it becomes easier to use the time for this. 

I have recently volunteered to be a parent reader at my son’s school, but part of me feels that this is not really my time, but more of an extension of my role as a parent.  I am keen to do this and volunteer, but I think I need to try new things or rediscover things I used to do before I was a parent. 

If I am honest with myself, I am not sure what direction I would like to go in.  I am still considering the gardening or creative writing courses, but need to find the time to research my options.  But what I do need to work on is allowing myself this time to rediscover who I am as an individual, who is not solely a parent.  I would like is to find something that really excites me to learn or pursue, and I think this would allow me the chance to be comfortable making time for myself again.  I also think it will be good for my son to see me in this different light.   

Sonya, 42, works three days a week as a Personal Assistant within the legal sector.  She lives in Kent with her husband and 6 year old son.


No Comments

Add Comment


We use cookies to help give you the best experience on our website. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website. Please read our cookie policy to find out more.